Paleta anyone?

I have recently been so inspired by bon appetits latest issue on grilling. In this heat you have to be crazy to cook anything inside but, what about something to also cool us off? I am a huge ice pop/ice cream lover. As I was reading an article about Eric Ripert I came across a recipe for Paletas. Your probably wondering what that is. A paleta is an ice pop made from fresh fruit and originates from Latin America. It’s easy and sooooo delicious and refreshing. The recipe goes as follows.
4 cups fresh watermelon
1/4 cup greek yogurt
1 tsp. grated ginger
Pinch kosher salt or sea salt
1/3 cup sugar
1 Tbsp. lime juice
Take all ingredients and blend in a blender well. Pour in your choice of container. Today i’m doing these cool bug icy makers I have but, when I make these for my adult friends the mixture will be poured back into the watermelon shell to freeze. Makes a great presentation. I will recommend trying some of the puree before you freeze it. Its so good my son and I almost decided to drink it instead of freezing it.

20130716-173422.jpg
We did save a little to drink šŸ˜‰

20130716-173608.jpg
The mix of the ginger gives it a little spice not much just enough and the refreshing flavor of that much watermelon and lime just makes you smile. It really is that simple.

Leave a Reply

